Abbey Heritage Logo has been taken from a window in the Monastery of Kilnalahan. Kilnalahan was founded in the second half of the 13th century and was the only Carthusian foundation in Ireland. In the early 1300s the Knight Hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem became the new owners and they were followed by the Franciscans in 1371. The Franciscans remained in Kilnalahan for 500 years.
The ruins of this unique foundation, from which Abbey gets its name, are the centerpiece of Abbey village and it is appropriate that this beautiful window has been chosen as our heritage logo.