Galway Hurling Team

Played Dublin in Croke Park in 1920

Frances Holohan

This was the Galway Hurling Team that played Dublin in Croke Park a week after Bloody Sunday 1920. The GAA were not to be intimidated by the actions of the British Forces the previous Sunday and Galway accepted Dublin’s invitation to play a game at headquarters to defy curfew and martial law.

Back Row: Jim Power, Mick Kenny (Captain), Paddy O”Connor, Padraig Naughton, Ignatius Harney, Bernie Gibbs, James Shaughnessy.

Front Row: Andy Kelly, ‘Carb’ Fahy, Tom Cogavan, Dick Morrissey, Frank Fallon, Martin McGlynn, Mick Finn, John Mahony, Stephen Jordan.  Photo courtesy John Finn

This page was added on 03/12/2018.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.